Merton Council Special Meeting of the Council

Membership

The Mayor (as elected at the Annual Meeting of the Council)

The Deputy Mayor (as appointed by the Mayor at the Annual Meeting of the Council)

Councillors: Agatha Mary Akyigyina, Stephen Alambritis, Mark Allison, Stan Anderson, Laxmi Attawar, Hamish Badenoch, John Bowcott, Michael Bull, Adam Bush, Tobin Byers, Charlie Chirico, David Chung, Caroline Cooper-Marbiah, Pauline Cowper, Stephen Crowe, Mary Curtin, David Dean, John Dehaney, Nick Draper, Edward Foley, Brenda Fraser, Fidelis Gadzama, Ross Garrod, Suzanne Grocott, Jeff Hanna, Joan Henry, Daniel Holden, James Holmes, Janice Howard, Mary-Jane Jeanes, Abigail Jones, Philip Jones, Andrew Judge, Sally Kenny, Linda Kirby, Abdul Latif, Najeeb Latif, Brian Lewis-Lavender, Gilli Lewis-Lavender, Edith Macauley, Russell Makin, Maxi Martin, Peter McCabe, Oonagh Moulton, Ian Munn BSc, MRTPI(Rtd), Katy Neep, Dennis Pearce, John Sargeant, Judy Saunders, David Simpson CBE, Marsie Skeete, Peter Southgate, Geraldine Stanford, Linda Taylor OBE, Imran Uddin, Gregory Patrick Udeh, Peter Walker, Jill West, Martin Whelton and David Williams

Date: Wednesday 4 June 2014

- Time: 20:00 or at such later time at the conclusion of the Annual Meeting of the Council called for 19.15pm on the same evening.
- Venue: Council chamber Merton Civic Centre, London Road, Morden SM4 5DX

This is a public meeting and attendance by the public is encouraged and welcomed. For more information about the agenda please contact <u>democratic.services@merton.gov.uk</u> or telephone <u>020 8545 3361</u>.

All Press contacts: press@merton.gov.uk, 020 8545 3181

Special Meeting of the Council 4 June 2014

- 1) Apologies for absence
- 2) Declarations of Pecuniary Interest
- 3) Honorary Aldermen

Council is recommended to agree to present former Councillors Margaret Brierly and Samantha George, respectively with a certificate conferring upon them the title of Honorary Alderman duly affixed with the common seal of the Council.

The motions to be moved and seconded are:

1. 'That former Councillor Margaret Brierly is conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman of the London Borough of Merton in recognition of her loyal and distinguished service to the Council over many years.'

and

2. 'That former Councillor Samantha George is conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman of the London Borough of Merton in recognition of her loyal and distinguished service to the Council over many years.'

Note by Chief Executive: Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 requires a resolution conferring the title of Honorary Alderman/woman to be passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon.

Note on declarations of interest

Members are advised to declare any Disclosable Pecuniary Interest in any matter to be considered at the meeting. If a pecuniary interest is declared they should withdraw from the meeting room during the whole of the consideration of that mater and must not participate in any vote on that matter. If members consider they should not participate because of a non-pecuniary interest which may give rise to a perception of bias, they should declare this, .withdraw and not participate in consideration of the item. For further advice please speak with the Assistant Director of Corporate Governance.

This page is intentionally left blank